The best saffron growing kits for most home growers are the 20 Saffron Crocus Corms, 9–10 cm, because they balance a useful planting quantity with clearly stated corm size. For a larger planting, the 30 Jumbo Saffron Crocus Bulbs from Princeton Blooms stand out for their stated 11+ cm size, while the 5 Saffron Crocus Corms, 10+ cm, with Planting Instructions suit beginners who want a small trial and guidance. The main tradeoff is between buying more corms for broader coverage and choosing larger corms or clearer planting support. These are primarily corm listings rather than complete kits, so check what is included before expecting pots, soil, or tools. Continue reading for the full comparison and a guide to matching quantity and size to your garden.
Get garden gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Stated corm size separates several standout options: the 20-count listing specifies 9–10 cm corms, while Princeton Blooms lists 30 jumbo corms at 11+ cm.
- Quantity varies widely across this lineup: options run from three corms to 60, making it easier to choose a small trial or a larger planting without treating every pack as the same kind of purchase.
- Planting instructions are a meaningful beginner advantage: the five-corm option pairs a modest quantity with explicit planting support, unlike listings whose titles focus mainly on count.
- Large packs do not automatically mean better value for every grower: a 50- or 60-count pack can be excessive if bed space, drainage, or first-season care is uncertain.
- These listings are mostly corms, not complete kits: buyers should check for included growing media, containers, and care guidance rather than assuming those supplies come with the bulbs.
| 10 Saffron Crocus (Crocus sativus) Corms for Planting | ![]() | Best for Low-Maintenance Perennial Growing | Quantity: 10 corms | Planting depth: 3 inches | Sunlight: Full sun | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 10 Saffron Crocus Corms | ![]() | Best for Sandy-Soil Gardeners | Quantity: 10 corms | Plant type: Perennial flower | Bloom season: Fall | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 15 Saffron Crocus Bulbs – Fall Blooming, Grow Your Own Saffron Spice | ![]() | Best for First-Time Growers | Unit count: 15 bulbs | USDA hardiness zone: 5–8 | Expected blooming period: Fall | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 20 Saffron Crocus Corms, 9–10 cm | ![]() | Best for Larger Corms and a Mid-Sized Planting | Plant: Saffron crocus (Crocus sativus) | Quantity: 20 corms | Corm size: 9–10 cm | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Votaniki Saffron Crocus Bulbs 50 Pack | ![]() | Best for a High-Volume Planting | Quantity: 50 bulbs | Plant type: Saffron crocus (Crocus sativus) | Bloom time: Autumn | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 50 Saffron Crocus Sativus Corms, Large 9 cm | ![]() | Best for a Larger Saffron Patch | Quantity: 50 corms | Corm size: 9 cm | Planting period: Fall | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 10 Saffron Crocus Bulbs (Crocus sativus) | ![]() | Best for a Small Garden or Container Trial | Plant: Crocus sativus | Quantity: 10 bulbs | Blooming period: Fall | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Greenhouse PCA Saffron Crocus Corms for Planting, 3 Large Corms | ![]() | Best for a Tiny Trial Planting | Quantity: 3 corms | Plant type: Crocus sativus | Flower color: Lilac-purple | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 30 Jumbo Saffron Crocus Bulbs, 11+ cm, from Princeton Blooms | ![]() | Best for Jumbo Bulbs and Detailed Planting Guidance | Quantity: 30 bulbs | Bulb size: 11+ cm | Planting period: Late summer to early fall (August–October) | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Marde Ross & Company Saffron Crocus (Crocus sativus) Corms for Planting, 20 Count | ![]() | Best for Flexible Indoor and Outdoor Growing | Quantity: 20 corms | Plant: Crocus sativus | Use: Indoor and outdoor | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 5 Saffron Crocus Corms, 10+ cm, with Planting Instructions | ![]() | Best for Small-Space Beginners | Plant: Saffron crocus (Crocus sativus) | Quantity: 5 corms | Corm size: 10+ cm | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 25 Saffron Crocus (Crocus sativus) Bulbs for Fall Blooms | ![]() | Best for Beginner-Friendly Mid-Size Plantings | Plant: Crocus sativus | Quantity: 25 bulbs | Blooming period: Fall | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 45 Saffron Crocus Bulbs – Fall Blooming, Grow Your Own Saffron | ![]() | Best for Zone-Specific Edible Harvests | Brand: Daylily Nursery | Plant: Saffron crocus (Crocus sativus) | Quantity: 45 bulbs | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Easy to Grow Crocus Sativus ‘Saffron Crocus’ Plant Bulbs (60 Pack) – Purple Flowers | ![]() | Best for Large Fall Displays | Plant: Crocus sativus ‘Saffron Crocus’ | Quantity: 60 bulbs | Bloom time: Fall | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| saffron growing kit | Quantity | Sunlight | Soil type | Plant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 Saffron Crocus | 10 corms | Full sun | Loam | — |
| 10 Saffron Crocus Corms | 10 corms | Full sun | Sandy soil | — |
| 15 Saffron Crocus Bulbs | — | — | Sandy | — |
| 20 Saffron Crocus Corms | 20 corms | Full sun | Loam | Saffron crocus (Crocus sativus) |
| Votaniki Saffron Crocus Bulbs | 50 bulbs | — | — | — |
| 50 Saffron Crocus Sativus Corm | 50 corms | Full sun | Any soil | — |
| 10 Saffron Crocus Bulbs | 10 bulbs | Full sun or partial shade | Sandy soil | Crocus sativus |
| Greenhouse PCA Saffron Crocus | 3 corms | — | — | — |
| 30 Jumbo Saffron Crocus Bulbs | 30 bulbs | Full sun to partial shade; 4–6 hours of direct sun daily | — | — |
| Marde Ross & Company Saffron C | 20 corms | Full sun | Loam | Crocus sativus |
| 5 Saffron Crocus Corms | 5 corms | — | — | Saffron crocus (Crocus sativus) |
| 25 Saffron Crocus | 25 bulbs | — | — | Crocus sativus |
| 45 Saffron Crocus Bulbs | 45 bulbs | Full sun to partial shade | — | Saffron crocus (Crocus sativus) |
| Easy to Grow Crocus Sativus ‘S | 60 bulbs | Full sun | — | Crocus sativus ‘Saffron Crocus’ |
More Details on Our Top Picks
10 Saffron Crocus (Crocus sativus) Corms for Planting
I’d choose this 10-corm set for a gardener who wants a small saffron patch that can return in later seasons rather than a one-time planting. Each corm can produce three stigmas, and the plants form clumps, so leaving them undisturbed supports their perennial growth. Compared with the 15 Saffron Crocus Bulbs, this set gives less initial planting volume and no supplied instructions are listed, but its stated care details spell out the summer dry period clearly. That routine is the main tradeoff: plant 3 inches deep in full sun, then withhold water while the corms are dormant. Its late-fall bloom also means this is a seasonal harvest, not a steady supply through the year. I’d skip it if I wanted frequent harvests or a kit with more corms to start.
Pros:- Each corm is described as producing three saffron stigmas
- Perennial growth can return after summer dormancy
- Clumping growth suits a planting left undisturbed
- Attracts pollinators
Cons:- Summer dormancy requires withholding water
- Flowers bloom in late fall rather than throughout the year
- The 10-corm quantity starts with a modest planting
Best for: Gardeners who want to establish a small, returning outdoor saffron patch and can keep the soil dry during summer dormancy
Not ideal for: Growers seeking year-round flowers, frequent saffron harvests, or a larger initial planting
- Quantity:10 corms
- Planting depth:3 inches
- Sunlight:Full sun
- Blooming period:Late fall
- Growth habit:Perennial; forms clumps
- Expected plant height:10 inches
- USDA hardiness zone:3
- Soil type:Loam
Our verdict“Choose this set for a small perennial saffron bed if you’re comfortable keeping it dry through summer dormancy.”
10 Saffron Crocus Corms
This is the clearest fit in the group for someone whose garden already has sandy, fast-draining soil. Like the 10-corm Marde Ross & Company set, it offers perennial crocuses that can produce three stigmas per corm and bloom in fall; the useful distinction is its stated preference for sandy soil and little to no watering. That guidance makes the growing conditions easier to match, but it is less forgiving if your beds stay damp. Plant at 3 inches in full sun, let the corms dry after flowering, and keep water off during summer dormancy. Pollinator appeal and GMO-free status add interest, though neither changes the seasonal harvest. With only 10 corms, this is a starter planting rather than a high-volume saffron source; the 50-bulb Votaniki pack is better for scale.
Pros:- Sandy-soil preference suits naturally fast-draining beds
- Each corm can produce three saffron stigmas
- Perennial plants may return in later growing seasons
- Attracts pollinators and is listed as GMO-free
Cons:- Requires little to no watering and a dry summer dormancy
- Fall flowering provides a limited seasonal harvest
- Ten corms offer a smaller starting crop than the Votaniki 50-pack
Best for: Outdoor gardeners with sunny, sandy beds who want a small perennial planting and can provide a dry summer rest
Not ideal for: Gardeners with heavy, moisture-retaining soil or buyers aiming to plant a large saffron bed at once
- Quantity:10 corms
- Plant type:Perennial flower
- Bloom season:Fall
- Expected plant height:11 inches
- Planting depth:3 inches
- Sunlight:Full sun
- Soil type:Sandy soil
- Use:Outdoor
- Special features:Attracts pollinators; GMO-free
Our verdict“Pick this 10-corm set if your sunny garden drains well and you want a modest, low-water saffron planting.”
15 Saffron Crocus Bulbs – Fall Blooming, Grow Your Own Saffron Spice
For a first attempt, I’d favor this pack because it combines 15 bulbs with detailed planting instructions, giving a beginner more planting material and guidance than either 10-corm set. Its stated range of USDA zones 5–8 and tolerance for full sun to partial shade also offer a clearer location fit than the other small packs, though local conditions still matter. The tradeoff is that it needs sandy, well-drained soil and should be planted promptly on arrival; waterlogged ground can threaten the bulbs. Compared with the 20-corm set, it contains fewer pieces, but its instructions and broader stated light exposure make it the more approachable choice for someone learning the crop. Expect a fall bloom and a seasonal stigma harvest, not continuous spice production.
Pros:- Includes detailed planting instructions
- Fifteen bulbs provide a larger start than either 10-corm set
- Listed for USDA zones 5–8
- Can grow in full sun or partial shade
Cons:- Bulbs should be planted immediately upon arrival
- Does not tolerate wet or poorly drained soil
- Fall blooming limits the harvest to a seasonal window
Best for: New gardeners in USDA zones 5–8 who want a moderate bulb count and included planting instructions
Not ideal for: Buyers who cannot plant promptly, have poorly drained soil, or want the largest planting in this group
- Unit count:15 bulbs
- USDA hardiness zone:5–8
- Expected blooming period:Fall
- Sunlight exposure:Full sun or partial shade
- Soil type:Sandy
- Moisture needs:Moderate watering
- Instructions:Detailed planting instructions included
Our verdict“Choose this pack as a guided first planting if you can provide sandy drainage and plant the bulbs soon after delivery.”
20 Saffron Crocus Corms, 9–10 cm
The standout here is the combination of 20 corms and a stated 9–10 cm size, making it a more substantial start than the 10-corm options without jumping to the Votaniki 50-pack. Planting instructions are included, which helps offset the thinner care guidance in the listing. It is aimed at outdoor gardeners with full sun and loam soil; compared with the 15-bulb pack, it supplies more planting pieces but gives less detail about zone range and watering. The listed summer bloom period differs from the fall timing given for most saffron crocus options here, so buyers should confirm timing with the seller before planning a harvest. This is not the most fully specified choice, but its larger corm count makes it a reasonable middle ground for expanding a bed.
Pros:- Includes 20 corms, twice the count of the 10-corm packs
- Corm size is listed as 9–10 cm
- Planting instructions are included
- Specified for outdoor planting in full sun and loam soil
Cons:- The listed summer bloom period differs from the fall timing stated for other saffron crocus options
- Care details beyond sunlight and soil preference are limited
- Full sun and suitable loam narrow the fit for some gardens
Best for: Outdoor growers who want more than a starter quantity, prefer larger stated corms, and have sunny loam beds
Not ideal for: Gardeners who need clear, consistent bloom timing or detailed guidance on watering and regional suitability
- Plant:Saffron crocus (Crocus sativus)
- Quantity:20 corms
- Corm size:9–10 cm
- Usage:Outdoor
- Sunlight:Full sun
- Soil type:Loam
- Expected plant height:11 inches
- Expected blooming period:Summer
Our verdict“Consider this mid-sized pack if you want 20 stated 9–10 cm corms and can verify its unusual listed bloom timing.”
Votaniki Saffron Crocus Bulbs 50 Pack
If the goal is to plant a broad saffron bed, this 50-bulb pack has the clear advantage over the 10- and 15-bulb options. More plants create more opportunities for stigmas at harvest, although the listing does not give a per-bulb yield figure, so I wouldn’t treat the count as a guaranteed spice volume. The plants need full sun and well-draining soil; poor drainage can cause rot, and harvesting the small stigmas takes patient handwork. Compared with the 20-corm 9–10 cm set, Votaniki offers much greater quantity but does not specify bulb size, planting depth, or zone range. Its autumn flowers bring a concentrated seasonal display and harvest, not year-round production. I’d choose it for bed scale, not for buyers seeking the most detailed growing instructions.
Pros:- Fifty bulbs support a larger planting than the other reviewed packs
- Autumn flowers add late-season garden color
- Full sun and well-draining soil requirements are clearly stated
- Crimson stigmas are intended for culinary saffron harvest
Cons:- Poor drainage can cause bulb rot
- Stigma harvesting is labor-intensive
- The listing does not specify bulb size, planting depth, or hardiness zone
- Blooming and harvest are limited to autumn
Best for: Gardeners with space for a larger outdoor saffron bed who can provide full sun, good drainage, and time for hand harvesting
Not ideal for: Small-space growers, gardeners with wet soil, or beginners who need planting depth and climate guidance stated upfront
- Quantity:50 bulbs
- Plant type:Saffron crocus (Crocus sativus)
- Bloom time:Autumn
- Sun requirement:Full sun
- Soil preference:Well-draining soil
- Flower color:Purple
- Stigma color:Red
Our verdict“Choose Votaniki for the largest planting in this batch if you have well-drained space and accept the manual, seasonal harvest.”
50 Saffron Crocus Sativus Corms, Large 9 cm
For gardeners who want enough corms to plant a substantial outdoor patch, this 50-count set offers more planting material than the 20-count Marde Ross & Company pack. Its listed 9 cm corm size gives buyers a clear size reference, and each flower is described as producing the three red stigmas harvested for saffron. The included instructions are useful for the seasonal routine: plant in fall, water after planting, then reduce watering during summer dormancy. That schedule is also the main tradeoff; this is not a set-and-forget choice. It is listed for outdoor use, so it is less flexible than the Princeton Blooms 30-bulb set, which can also be grown indoors or in containers. I’d choose this pack for garden space and a larger planting, not for a compact windowsill trial.
Pros:- Includes 50 corms for a larger planting
- Corms are listed at 9 cm
- Flowers produce saffron-bearing stigmas
- Planting instructions are included
Cons:- Requires a change in watering during summer dormancy
- Listed for outdoor use rather than indoor growing
Best for: Outdoor gardeners who want to plant a larger saffron patch and are comfortable adjusting watering for summer dormancy
Not ideal for: Apartment growers or anyone seeking a small indoor container trial, since this set is listed for outdoor use and includes 50 corms
- Quantity:50 corms
- Corm size:9 cm
- Planting period:Fall
- Sunlight:Full sun
- Expected plant height:12 inches
- Soil type:Any soil
- Use:Outdoor
- Material feature:GMO-free
Our verdict“Choose this set for a larger outdoor saffron patch; pick the Marde Ross 20-count pack if you want fewer corms and indoor or container flexibility.”
10 Saffron Crocus Bulbs (Crocus sativus)
This 10-bulb pack is the smallest planting here, making it a sensible way to try saffron crocus without committing to the 50 corms in the Marde Ross & Company 9 cm set. It can go in a garden or container, and its full-sun-to-partial-shade guidance gives it a little more site flexibility than products listed for full sun alone. The practical limitation is the recommended sandy soil: growers with dense, moisture-holding ground may need to adapt their planting mix or use a container with suitable drainage. Fall planting is also part of the schedule, so this is not an instant indoor herb kit. Compared with Princeton Blooms’ 30 jumbo bulbs, this pack offers less scale and no listed bulb-size detail, but it asks for a smaller planting commitment.
Pros:- Small 10-bulb quantity suits a trial planting
- Suitable for garden or container growing
- Tolerates full sun or partial shade
- Produces fall blooms
Cons:- Requires fall planting
- Prefers sandy soil, which may require a prepared container mix
- No bulb size or planting instructions are listed in the supplied details
Best for: First-time growers who want to try a few saffron crocuses in a small garden bed or a well-draining container
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a large harvest-oriented planting or those unwilling to provide sandy, freely draining soil
- Plant:Crocus sativus
- Quantity:10 bulbs
- Blooming period:Fall
- Planting period:Fall
- Sunlight:Full sun or partial shade
- Soil type:Sandy soil
- Moisture needs:Moderate watering
- Brand:CZ Grain
Our verdict“Pick this pack for a modest first planting, while Princeton Blooms is a better fit if you want more bulbs and listed size and spacing guidance.”
Greenhouse PCA Saffron Crocus Corms for Planting, 3 Large Corms
With just three corms, this is the most compact option in the group and suits a grower who wants to test a small planting before committing to a larger patch. The flowers are described as lilac-purple with red saffron-bearing stigmas, and the listing says corms may multiply over time. Compared with the 10-bulb CZ Grain pack, though, this gives you fewer plants to start with, so it is a weaker choice if your goal is to grow several flowers in one season. The bigger concern is conflicting care information: the supplied details give different hardiness zones, planting seasons, plant heights, and bloom periods. That makes planning less predictable than with the Princeton Blooms listing, whose planting depth and spacing are specified. I’d buy this only if a tiny trial matters more than dependable guidance.
Pros:- Three corms allow a very small trial
- Flowers are described as producing harvestable red stigmas
- Corms may multiply over time
- Late-season flowers are described as pollinator-friendly
Cons:- Listing details conflict on hardiness zone, planting season, height, and bloom period
- Three corms provide a smaller starting planting than the CZ Grain 10-bulb pack
Best for: Curious growers who want to try a few saffron crocuses and can verify planting guidance before choosing a site
Not ideal for: Gardeners who need consistent zone, timing, and height information or want enough corms for a fuller display
- Quantity:3 corms
- Plant type:Crocus sativus
- Flower color:Lilac-purple
- Sun exposure:Full sun
- Soil:Well-draining
- Hardiness zone:Conflicting listing details: zones 5–9 and 7–11
- Planting season:Conflicting listing details: fall and spring to early summer
- Plant height:Conflicting listing details: 4–6 inches and 48 inches
Our verdict“Choose this only for a small experimental planting if you can confirm the growing details; the CZ Grain pack is the clearer choice for a beginner.”
30 Jumbo Saffron Crocus Bulbs, 11+ cm, from Princeton Blooms
The 11+ cm jumbo bulbs and 30-count quantity make this the most clearly specified mid-to-large planting in the batch. Princeton Blooms gives practical details the smaller Greenhouse PCA set lacks, including planting depth, spacing, and a late-summer-to-early-fall window. It is also listed for indoor and outdoor use, so container growers have an alternative to the outdoor-only 50-corm Marde Ross set. Those advantages come with a need for careful site preparation: the bulbs call for well-drained sandy loam and low-to-moderate moisture, since soggy conditions can cause rot. The listing describes them as pre-sprouted, but a saffron harvest still depends on successful fall flowering. I’d rank this ahead of the simpler 10-bulb CZ Grain pack for buyers who want more planting detail, while the larger Marde Ross pack may suit gardeners prioritizing quantity over jumbo size.
Pros:- 30 bulbs are listed at 11+ cm
- Planting depth and spacing are specified
- Suitable for indoor, outdoor, and container growing
- Listed for hardiness zones 4–10
Cons:- Requires well-drained sandy loam and careful watering
- A saffron harvest depends on successful fall blooms
- The listed pre-sprouted status does not remove the need for seasonal growing conditions
Best for: Gardeners who want a sizable planting with large bulbs, defined spacing and depth, and the option to use containers
Not ideal for: Growers with poorly drained soil or anyone who cannot monitor moisture and prevent corm rot
- Quantity:30 bulbs
- Bulb size:11+ cm
- Planting period:Late summer to early fall (August–October)
- Hardiness zones:4–10
- Sunlight:Full sun to partial shade; 4–6 hours of direct sun daily
- Soil:Well-drained sandy loam
- Planting depth:3–4 inches
- Plant spacing:3–4 inches
- Use:Indoor and outdoor
Our verdict“Choose Princeton Blooms for jumbo bulbs and unusually useful planting specifics; choose the 50-corm Marde Ross set if sheer quantity matters more.”
Marde Ross & Company Saffron Crocus (Crocus sativus) Corms for Planting, 20 Count
The 20-corm count puts this between the 10-bulb CZ Grain pack and the 50-corm Marde Ross set, making it a practical middle ground for growers who want more than a test planting without filling a large bed. Its strongest distinction is indoor and outdoor use: it can go in a garden, pot, or planter, unlike the 50-corm Marde Ross option, which is listed for outdoor use. Planting instructions are included, and the listing gives a full-sun preference and loam soil guidance. The tradeoff is less precise watering advice than Princeton Blooms’ low-to-moderate moisture directions: this set is described as needing little to no watering, which may be difficult to interpret around planting and dormancy. I’d favor it for adaptable placement and a mid-sized quantity, but not for growers who need detailed moisture scheduling.
Pros:- Includes 20 corms, more than a small trial pack
- Suitable for indoor and outdoor growing in gardens, pots, or planters
- Planting instructions are included
- Listed as attracting pollinators
Cons:- Full sun and loam soil preferences limit site flexibility
- The little-to-no-watering guidance gives less detail about seasonal moisture changes than the 50-corm Marde Ross set
Best for: Home growers who want a moderate number of corms for a sunny garden, pot, or planter, indoors or outdoors
Not ideal for: Buyers who need detailed watering guidance or whose growing area lacks full sun and loam soil
- Quantity:20 corms
- Plant:Crocus sativus
- Use:Indoor and outdoor
- Sunlight:Full sun
- Blooming period:Fall to winter
- Expected plant height:11 inches
- Hardiness zone:3
- Soil type:Loam
- Moisture needs:Little to no watering
Our verdict“Pick this for a mid-sized, flexible garden or container planting; choose Princeton Blooms if you want clearer spacing and moisture specifications.”
5 Saffron Crocus Corms, 10+ cm, with Planting Instructions
For a first saffron planting in a pot or a small garden bed, this five-corm pack keeps the commitment modest while specifying 10+ cm corms and including planting instructions. Its guidance is unusually practical: plant 3 inches deep in sandy soil, then stop watering during summer dormancy and resume as fall rains begin. That seasonal routine matters more here than a general low-maintenance claim, since saffron crocus needs a distinct dry rest. Compared with the 25 Saffron Crocus Bulbs, this pack gives you less coverage but is easier to fit into a container and learn from. The tradeoff is limited harvest potential: five corms cannot supply much saffron, even with three stigmas per flower. Choose it to learn the growing cycle, not to stock a spice cupboard.
Pros:- Includes five corms described as 10+ cm
- Planting instructions specify depth, soil, and dormancy watering
- Suitable for garden beds or containers
- Perennial corms can form natural clumps if left undisturbed
Cons:- Five corms limit flower and stigma production
- Requires sandy soil and a summer dry-dormancy period
Best for: New growers with a container or small garden bed who want a modest planting and explicit seasonal care instructions.
Not ideal for: Gardeners seeking a sizeable saffron harvest or broad fall color, since five corms provide limited planting coverage.
- Plant:Saffron crocus (Crocus sativus)
- Quantity:5 corms
- Corm size:10+ cm
- Blooming period:Late fall
- Planting depth:3 inches
- Soil:Sandy
- Growing location:Outdoor; garden beds or containers
- Watering:Moderate; withhold during summer dormancy
Our verdict“Choose this small, instruction-led pack to learn saffron crocus care in a container or compact bed, but not for a substantial harvest.”
25 Saffron Crocus (Crocus sativus) Bulbs for Fall Blooms
The 25-bulb count lands between a small trial planting and the larger coverage of the 45-bulb Daylily Nursery pack, making this a practical choice for someone ready to fill a bed or several containers without starting at bulk scale. The bulbs are described as low maintenance and intended for outdoor growing in sandy soil; the flowers offer both autumn color and red saffron threads for harvesting. Unlike the five-corm instruction pack, this listing does not give a planting depth, corm size, or detailed dormancy schedule, so beginners get less specific guidance for handling the growing cycle. Fall planting also narrows the timing for getting started. I’d choose it for a straightforward seasonal planting where moderate coverage matters more than precise growing instructions or a larger potential harvest.
Pros:- 25 bulbs provide more coverage than the five-corm starter pack
- Purple fall flowers produce red threads described as harvestable saffron
- Suitable for gardens and containers
- Described as low maintenance and beginner-friendly
Cons:- Requires fall planting, limiting flexibility for when to start
- Sandy soil is specified, but the listing gives no planting depth or corm-size detail
Best for: New outdoor growers who want enough bulbs to create a noticeable fall display across a bed or a few containers.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need detailed depth and dormancy instructions, or who cannot plant outdoors during the fall window.
- Plant:Crocus sativus
- Quantity:25 bulbs
- Blooming period:Fall
- Planting period:Fall
- Growing location:Outdoor; gardens or containers
- Soil:Sandy soil
- Special feature:Low maintenance
- Material feature:Heirloom
Our verdict“Pick this mid-size pack for a beginner-friendly fall display with possible saffron harvest, provided you can plant in fall and supply sandy soil.”
45 Saffron Crocus Bulbs – Fall Blooming, Grow Your Own Saffron
Daylily Nursery’s 45-bulb pack suits gardeners who want a substantial planting and clearer site guidance than the 25-bulb CZ Grain pack provides. It specifies USDA zones 5–8, full sun to partial shade, and a September–October planting window, helping buyers match the bulbs to their climate and garden light. Each lilac-purple flower is described as producing three red stigmas for cooking, so the planting is framed around both seasonal color and a culinary harvest. The main tradeoff is timing: the bulbs are meant to be planted immediately after shipping, leaving little room to wait for a more convenient weekend or prepare a site later. Compared with the 60-bulb pack, this is a smaller commitment, but its zone range differs and its delivery-to-plant schedule calls for readiness.
Pros:- 45 bulbs offer more planting coverage than the 25-bulb CZ Grain pack
- Provides specific USDA zone and light guidance
- Flowers are described as producing three harvestable red stigmas each
- Fall blooms add color when fewer garden bulbs are flowering
Cons:- Bulbs must be planted immediately after shipping
- Specified for USDA zones 5–8, excluding some growing regions
- Requires sandy soil and moderate watering
Best for: Gardeners in USDA zones 5–8 who have a prepared sunny or partly shaded site and want a larger planting for culinary saffron.
Not ideal for: Buyers outside zones 5–8 or anyone who needs to store bulbs before planting, since the listing calls for planting immediately after shipping.
- Brand:Daylily Nursery
- Plant:Saffron crocus (Crocus sativus)
- Quantity:45 bulbs
- Blooming period:Fall
- Planting period:September–October
- USDA hardiness zones:5–8
- Sunlight:Full sun to partial shade
- Soil:Sandy
- Moisture needs:Moderate watering
Our verdict“Choose this pack for a sizable, edible saffron planting if your garden is in zones 5–8 and ready for bulbs as soon as they arrive.”
Easy to Grow Crocus Sativus ‘Saffron Crocus’ Plant Bulbs (60 Pack) – Purple Flowers
With 60 bulbs, this is the largest planting in this batch, making it the clear pick for gardeners aiming to fill a broad bed with fall color. The stated 2–3-inch spacing and 3–4-inch planting depth give more practical layout guidance than the 25-bulb CZ Grain listing, though the five-corm pack offers more explicit advice about summer dormancy. This option is best treated as a flower-and-garden planting rather than a dependable spice supply: the product data says the bulbs do not guarantee saffron production. It also calls for full sun and amended soil, which limits placement compared with Daylily Nursery’s allowance for partial shade. Check those site requirements before choosing the larger count; poor soil or shade could make the extra bulbs a poor fit.
Pros:- 60 bulbs provide the largest coverage among these four products
- Specifies planting depth and spacing for arranging a larger bed
- Fall flowers add color when many gardens are dormant
- Suitable for USDA zones 6–9
Cons:- Full-sun requirement rules out shaded planting sites
- Needs amended soil and may perform poorly in unsuitable soil
- Saffron production is not guaranteed
Best for: Gardeners in USDA zones 6–9 with a sunny, amended bed who want broad coverage of purple fall flowers.
Not ideal for: Growers focused on dependable saffron harvests, or those with shaded beds or poor soil they cannot amend.
- Plant:Crocus sativus ‘Saffron Crocus’
- Quantity:60 bulbs
- Bloom time:Fall
- USDA hardiness zones:6–9
- Sunlight:Full sun
- Soil:Amended soil
- Water needs:Moderate
- Planting depth:3–4 inches
- Spacing:2–3 inches apart
Our verdict“Choose this 60-bulb pack for a large, sunny fall display, not when reliable saffron spice production is your main goal.”

How We Picked
I compared these 14 listings on the details buyers can use to plan a saffron planting: corm count, stated size, planting guidance, and clarity about what is included. I gave more weight to listings with specific size information because corm dimensions help distinguish a carefully described planting from one where the buyer has less information. I also considered whether the pack makes sense for a first trial, a small garden, or a broader planting, rather than assuming the largest quantity is the strongest choice.
The ranking favors a practical balance of useful quantity and clear specifications, then separates specialized picks for beginners, small spaces, and larger plantings. Product titles alone do not confirm germination, harvest size, growing medium, or included tools, so I do not treat those as guaranteed benefits. Many options are corm packs rather than full kits; that limits how highly I rank them for shoppers expecting a ready-to-grow bundle. Where listing details are sparse, I favor a cautious recommendation and advise checking the seller’s full product information before ordering.
| saffron growing kit | Sunlight | Soil type | Plant |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 Saffron Crocus | Full sun | Loam | — |
| 10 Saffron Crocus Corms | Full sun | Sandy soil | — |
| 15 Saffron Crocus Bulbs | — | Sandy | — |
| 20 Saffron Crocus Corms | Full sun | Loam | Saffron crocus (Crocus sativus) |
| Votaniki Saffron Crocus Bulbs | — | — | — |
| 50 Saffron Crocus Sativus Corm | Full sun | Any soil | — |
| 10 Saffron Crocus Bulbs | Full sun or partial shade | Sandy soil | Crocus sativus |
| Greenhouse PCA Saffron Crocus | — | — | — |
| 30 Jumbo Saffron Crocus Bulbs | Full sun to partial shade; 4–6 hours of direct sun daily | — | — |
| Marde Ross & Company Saffron C | Full sun | Loam | Crocus sativus |
| 5 Saffron Crocus Corms | — | — | Saffron crocus (Crocus sativus) |
| 25 Saffron Crocus | — | — | Crocus sativus |
| 45 Saffron Crocus Bulbs | Full sun to partial shade | — | Saffron crocus (Crocus sativus) |
| Easy to Grow Crocus Sativus ‘S | Full sun | — | Crocus sativus ‘Saffron Crocus’ |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Saffron Growing Kits
Choosing saffron crocus corms is partly a growing decision and partly a planning decision: the right pack depends on available space, planting conditions, and how much uncertainty you want in a first attempt. I would settle those points before choosing by count alone.
Match Corm Count to Your Planting Space
A pack of 50 or 60 can sound appealing, but it only helps if you have enough well-drained ground or containers to plant the corms properly. Estimate the space available and follow the spacing guidance supplied by the seller or a trusted horticultural source before buying. A smaller pack lets a new grower learn how the site performs without committing a large bed to one crop. Larger quantities make more sense when you already have prepared planting space or are planning a shared garden. Avoid buying a large pack just to chase a larger harvest; flowers and usable saffron depend on growing conditions as well as plant count.
Use Stated Corm Size as a Clue, Not a Promise
Some listings identify corm size, including the 9–10 cm, 10+ cm, and 11+ cm options in this roundup, while others state only a count. That measurement gives you a clearer basis for comparing listings, but it does not guarantee flowering or a particular harvest. Check how the seller defines its sizing and whether the measurement refers to circumference or another dimension. If size is not stated, ask for clarification rather than assuming that words such as “large” or “jumbo” follow a consistent standard. When comparing packs, weigh clear sizing against quantity instead of paying attention to either detail alone.
Check What “Kit” Actually Includes
The word “kit” can suggest a container, soil, labels, or detailed instructions, but many products here are corms only. Read the included-items list and product description closely before planning a complete setup around the purchase. If you need pots or growing medium, factor in sourcing them separately and confirm they suit a well-drained planting. Instructions matter most when you have not grown saffron crocus before, but brief directions may still leave questions about climate and seasonal care. A clearly described corm pack plus supplies you choose yourself may fit experienced gardeners better than a bundle with items they will not use.
Plan for Drainage and Seasonal Conditions
Good planting material cannot make up for a site that stays waterlogged or a climate that does not suit saffron crocus. Before ordering, check whether your garden can provide appropriate drainage and whether your local conditions support the plant’s seasonal cycle. Containers can help gardeners manage soil and drainage, but they also need suitable placement and care. Do not assume that an indoor setup is automatically a simpler alternative; light, airflow, and seasonal conditions still matter. If your site is uncertain, begin with a small pack and confirm local growing advice before scaling up.
Decide How Much Guidance You Need
For a first planting, clear instructions can reduce guesswork around planting depth, timing, and aftercare. The five-corm listing in this roundup specifically mentions planting instructions, making it a more focused trial option than a large pack that provides little visible guidance in its title. Experienced gardeners may prefer to choose their own supplies and consult established growing references rather than prioritize bundled directions. Before buying, check whether instructions are included in the package or only available online, and whether they address your growing region. More guidance is useful when it answers practical questions, not simply because a listing uses beginner-friendly language.
Set Realistic Expectations for Saffron Harvests
Saffron is harvested from the flower’s stigmas, so a planted corm count is not the same as a guaranteed amount of spice. Establishment, flowering, weather, and care can all affect what you collect, and harvesting and drying require careful work. If your main goal is culinary saffron, treat a home planting as a gardening project rather than a dependable source of a specific quantity. A small trial can teach you whether the process suits your space and routine before you expand. Larger packs make more sense when the growing experience itself is part of the goal, not only the harvest.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do these saffron growing kits include pots and soil?
Do not assume they do. Most product titles in this roundup describe saffron crocus corms or bulbs, and a mention of planting instructions does not mean a container or growing medium is included. Check the seller’s included-items list before ordering, especially if you are planning a container garden. If those supplies are absent, you will need to source them separately and choose a medium that drains well. This is one reason to distinguish a corm pack from a complete growing kit.
Should I buy a large pack if I want more saffron?
A larger pack gives you more corms to plant, but it does not promise a proportionally larger saffron harvest. The plants need suitable conditions, and the flowers still require timely harvesting and careful stigma handling. A 50- or 60-count pack is most sensible when you have the room and are comfortable caring for a larger planting. If this is your first season, a smaller pack can help you learn the routine before expanding. Choose quantity based on space and gardening capacity, not harvest assumptions alone.
Is a corm size listed in centimeters enough to compare packs?
It is helpful, but it is not the whole comparison. This roundup includes listings stating 9–10 cm, 10+ cm, and 11+ cm, which gives buyers more detail than a count-only title. Ask how the seller measures corms, since a number is only useful when the measurement method is clear. Size also cannot guarantee that every corm will flower or establish successfully. Compare the stated size alongside count, seller information, and the growing conditions you can provide.
Which option makes the most sense for a first saffron planting?
The five-corm listing that mentions planting instructions is a practical choice for a small first trial because it pairs a limited quantity with visible guidance. If you want more corms and have already prepared a suitable site, the 20-count, 9–10 cm option offers a more substantial starting point with stated sizing. Neither choice removes the need to check timing, drainage, and local growing conditions. Read the full instructions before planting, and confirm whether they are included or provided separately. Starting small is useful when you are still learning how saffron crocus fits your garden.
Can I grow saffron crocus in containers instead of a garden bed?
Container growing can work for gardeners without a suitable bed, provided the containers and growing medium offer effective drainage and the plants receive appropriate seasonal care. A pot does not make the crop maintenance-free, and containers may need closer attention to moisture and placement than a garden planting. Check growing instructions for container depth and spacing rather than choosing a pot based only on the number of corms. A small pack is easier to fit into a limited container setup than a bulk pack. Confirm that the seller’s guidance suits your climate before planting.
Conclusion
For the best overall balance, I recommend the 20 Saffron Crocus Corms, 9–10 cm: its stated size and moderate count make planning more straightforward than with count-only listings. The best value for a larger planting depends on your available space; compare the 50- and 60-count options carefully and verify sizing and included items before choosing. For a premium-size-focused pick, Princeton Blooms’ 30 jumbo corms with a stated 11+ cm size offer the clearest large-corm specification in this group. Beginners should start with the five-corm option with planting instructions, while gardeners with only a small trial area can also look at the three-corm Greenhouse PCA pack. If you want the broadest planting, consider the 45-, 50-, or 60-count listings only after confirming your site, supplies, and care plan.
Fall yard work Picks
leaf blowers
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.













